top of page

The Best Books For Tackling Fear



The best books for tackling fear

During times of great change in my life I turn to books for guidance, reassurance and steps.

I'm a fan of "how to" books but I'm also a research junky and love a well written story. The books listed below include one or all three of these elements.

I consume books in myriad ways. I have an audible account, use my local library for audiobooks and hardbacks; and, I also buy through Amazon. While all links below are for Amazon, I will share with you where I procured each.

These books adjusted my lens of the world, helped me feel less fearful and realize everything is possible.

Procured Through: Library Audiobook

This may seem like a strange place to start for books on fear, but; believe me when I say you can't read a book about finding happiness and remain scared.


10% Happier: How I tamed the voice in my head, reduced stress

Upon starting the audio I realized the author read the story and what a story it is. A tale of drug abuse, hunger for power and a meditation retreat.

Yep, all of that in this book! If you have any fear, like the author, you will relate with this book.

Why you should read it: Meditation from a skeptic's point of view is entertaining and enlightening. Plus I love an author with a self-deprecating sense of humor.

Procured Through: Library Audiobook


David and Goliath: Underdogs, misfits and the art of battling giants

We all think we know the story of David and Goliath but the hard evidence as to why David won the battle is a lesser known. The book starts here but with each chapter you learn more and more about winning and how seaming underdogs usually have the advantage.

Malcolm Gladwell is a master storyteller and this book is no different.

My brother is dyslexic, along with Richard Branson and many other creatives and math geniuses.

Is this an advantage or a curse? There's a chapter on that.

Why you should read it: If you feel like an underdog you will leave this book with an understanding that everyone is, but it's all about perspective.

Procured Through: Audible


The Miracle Morning

Hal Elrod was about to go bankrupt until he changed his morning routine. This one hour routine transformed how he thought, his productivity and helped him become resilient and resourceful.

Talk about kicking fear in the face!

Why you should read it: Changing up your routine can get you out of the fear mindset and of all the books I've read this is by far the simplest and best laid out technique.

Procured Through: Amazon


Eyes Wide Open

My first encounter of Isaac Lidsky was through his Ted Talk (that you can view here). After listening to this I immediately went to Amazon to reserve a copy of his book, as it hadn't launched yet. Then I promptly forgot about it until the book magically appeared on my doorstep in a box with a roll of paper towels (Amazon shipping is nothing if not efficient).

This book is part storytelling, part fishing excursion (read the book and you'll see what I mean). While reading it I found my mouth agape on more than one occasion.

Why you should read it: Have you been given some bad news that's scaring the hell out of you? This book will help you see the other side.

Procured Through: Amazon


Big Magic

While each of these books taught me a skill or new way of thinking, this book is like a best friend. I feel almost giddy introducing it to you!

Eat Pray Love deeply affected my life and after hearing Elizabeth speak about "Big Magic" and what fear meant to her I had to buy it.

My favorite part of this book is the crap sandwich. Everything in life comes with a crap sandwich. It all comes down to what flavor are you willing to eat?

Why you should read it: It's like Elizabeth is in your head and knows your fear scripts. She will help you rewrite those scripts; and, give you permission to stop torturing yourself.

Procured Through: Amazon


Girl Code

Don't let the title fool you into believing it's only for entrepreneurs. We are all CEO of Me Inc.

This book explores the self-limiting talk and behaviors we let sabotage our success.

Why you should read it: We all have gifts screaming to come out. This book will make you feel like a rockstar and push you to start or continue down your own path to success.

Procured Through: Audible


Girl Wash Your Face

I'm sure you've heard about this book. It was the 2nd highest sold book in 2018. But just in case you haven't here's some information.

This self-made mother of 4 shares the good, bad and ugly she faced in her life and how the majority of it was crap she was telling herself.

The book is a funny, poignant look at how we all judge ourselves and how to get out of our own way.

Why you should read it: You too say dumb $*&^ to yourself that's holding you back! But what if it was standing in the way of you doing something truly meaningful? (It is)

Procured Through: Audible


The War of Art

How on Earth is this related to fear?

In reading this book you learn that fear is what holds us back. Resistance is what Steven Pressfield talks about when it comes to all things hard (weight-loss, write a book, doing the hard things). He not only gives you examples in the world but the best ones come from his own life as a struggling author.

Why you should read it: You have so much more to share with the world be it words, art, music or an amazing business idea. The more resistance you feel the more you need to bring that passion to life. Read this and understand how normal you are but how beautiful your contribution is as well.

There are many more books on fear out there but I haven't read them, yet. I'm always looking for recommendations, if you have one drop me an email. I'd love to hear from you!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page