top of page

Yes I Work and I LOVE IT!


I will be the first to admit that I was bored on maternity leave, both times. I remember creating a breast milk inventory that showed me days on hand, and how to practice FIFO (first in first out) so as to use the milk in the proper order. Yes people that's called being bored to death!

I love my children. Having children is one of the BEST things I ever did. But it's not the ONLY thing I've ever done or will do.

Having children is supposed to be about teaching a new generation how to be kind and decent contributors to society, right? I feel my teaching is best done through work.

What I do and Why I do it

I've worn many hats in my career but the hat that seems to fit the best (I like to think of it as a comfy toboggan) is mentoring others. Not just mentoring but igniting a flame of positive change that grows into a habit and is birthed into teaching others to do the same. Kind of like the movie The Ring without a video tape and no one dies. (Okay maybe nothing like the ring except for the sharing part.)

My daughter asked me the other day why I work. She's 5 and I realize working doesn't 100% make sense to her right now but I was very careful with my answer. I told her I work to make people better people and that I love what I do. It made me stop and think though. What are my passions and goals?

I realized I have 3 main passions:


my goals in life

I now challenge you, amazing working mother, to write out and tell your children why you work. If you say anything about putting food on the table or buying things you've missed the point (or are in the wrong job). What drives you each day to go to work? What makes you excited about the future in your career and is worth being away from your family for?

I hope I haven't stumped you but if I have please email me. I want to talk to you about changing that (emily.hawkins28@yahoo.com).


Mommy and Daughter

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page