top of page

Traveling - How to prepare your family, your suitcase and your mindset


Warning! This is going to be long because I want you to know exactly how to prepare yourself and your family for travel.

When you're a working mother you have to make sure your work and your family are completely taken care of while looking good and not stressing. Who am I kidding, stress is always involved but these tips are here to minimize that. ;-)

Meal Planning

My family likes to eat even when I'm not around (I know, super high maintenance aren't they) so planning for my trip always begins with meal prep.

Make Snacks Easily Accessible

I chopped up watermelon and strawberries and also included apples and grapes all in the fruit drawer of the fridge for grab and go eating.

String cheese and yogurt are big hits in our house too. I fully stocked up on these amazingly simple snacks. If the kids lose their minds one night Darren can always lock them in a room and throw these snacks at them. (I romanticize parenting, forgive me)

Make meals ahead

I'm not opposed to my husband taking the kids to Chik-Fil-A or Waffle House while I'm gone, I just don't want the staff at either establishment to know them by name because they live there in my absence. My husband didn't ask me to make any meals while gone but I want some vegetables consumed and the mom guilt is less if I do this. (not that any of us have mom guilt)

My husband is a meat and potatoes guy so I chose to make ahead

Shepherds pie (see recipe below)

Versatile Italian meatballs. I made these because they last 5 days and can be turned into so many different things for all to enjoy. I used some in an Italian wedding soup recipe for my husband's lunches this week. I also left some plain for dunking in tomato sauce for the kids or for a great addition to spaghetti one night.

Have bread and healthy deli meat available

Potentially the dumbest tip on earth except it's something I forget constantly, so I thought maybe you do too. (You're welcome) If you also have crackers kids can have a little deli meat and cracker snack too.

Put a list on the fridge with everything that's actually in the fridge

This may seem like overkill but when I'm not home my entire family goes blind and claims there's nothing to eat in the house. I know my kids can't read but I know my husband can. (No excuses for complaining about eating out when you can see what's in the fridge)

Other Family Needs

Laundry

You may not have to do a ton but just make sure everything is clean that needs to be worn that week. Again, this seems obvious but it's so obvious you may not remember.

Check the calendar

Do your kids have dentist appointments? Camps? Special sleepovers? My kids are staying at their grandparents one night while I'm gone so I'm packing a bag in advance for them.

Prepare the Kids

In my house my husband is the favorite. When he leaves for business trips the kids cry like we put them in an orphanage. When I leave they don't seem to notice. I guess I should be concerned by this reaction but I'm not. I love my kids and I'm sure they love me too but I'm also the "did you brush your teeth, eat all your vegetables, we need to read nightly to keep your skills up" mom. My husband is the circus clown that does bath time but he also lets them have candy for breakfast and is okay with water balloons in the house. I think we can all agree why no one misses me, I'm not the fun one.

Let's pretend for a moment you are the fun parent. Make sure to tell your older kids (3 and up) that you're leaving and when you'll be back. I find saying "I'll be home in 3 sleeps" is a little easier for them to understand.

Packing

Just like in all things in life, you think about yourself last. :-) We haven't even packed a bag yet! I have some tips here that I want to share. Check out my Packing Tips video here for some simple ways to pair down your suitcase for simple and efficient travel.

Workouts

You didn't think I would forget this part!?!? Just because you are traveling does NOT give you permission to miss workouts. Pack running shoes and workout clothes. If I'm only gone for a day or two I typically only pack 1 set of workout clothes, rinse them in the sink and let them dry on the doorknob of the hotel bathroom.

If you're doing on demand workouts like I do all you need is your smartphone or laptop to access hotel room friendly workouts. You can even take your device to the gym to borrow the weights for muscle training. There's really no excuse when you can hold your workouts in the palm of your hand.

What is Beachbody On Demand? Here's a video of what on demand looks like. If you would like access to this super cool tool just send me a message and I can get you all signed up. ;-)

Don't want to talk to me? I'm not offended, just go here to purchase and thank me mentally when you're in amazing shape. ;-)

Healthy Shepard's Pie


Healthy Shepherd's Pie

8 medium red potatoes quartered (I leave the skin on because I like dirty mashed potatoes but you can peel them too)

5 tsp. olive oil

1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk

3/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese (use the real thing, no fat free please)

salt and pepper to taste

1 small onion chopped

1lb ground turkey

2 zucchini chopped

14 1/2oz canned diced tomatoes

1 small can tomato paste

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

place potatoes in a large pot and fill with just enough water to cover potatoes. Boil until potatoes are tender (about 20 minutes). Drain potatoes and place back in pot. Add 2 teaspoons of oil, almond milk, 1/4 cup of cheese and salt and pepper to taste. Mash until fluffy, set aside. (I use a hand mixer to make mine extra creamy)

Meanwhile, heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add remaining tablespoon of oil and heat until it shimmers. Add onion and turkey, cook until meal is no longer pink (about 10 minutes). Stir in zucchini, undrained tomatoes, past and pepper, bring to a boil.

Coat an 8 1/2 X 11 inch baking dish with cooking spray, fill with turkey mixture (see top pic for the filling). Spread potato mixture on top of turkey mixture, covering completely. Sprinkle with 1/2 cup of cheese and bake until the top is golden brown (see bottom pic).

Let stand 5 minutes before slicing into 8 pieces.

If you're reheating this you will end up mixing the potatoes into the filling for even heating (2.5 minutes on high, stir and heat an additional minute, but keep in mind I like this super hot, you may want to check the temp before going off of my times.) ;-)


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page