top of page

Homemade Refried Beans


Before you gasp and wonder why anyone would spend time making something that is perfectly fine out of a can, hang with me for a minute.

First, this recipe is refried beans but think of it as a souped up, Rolls-Royce version.

Second, it gives you the excuse to get out that manual potato masher that you may or may not use. Think of Toy Story and all those toys that long to be played with. Your potato masher is lonely. Get it out and use it!


Homemade Refried Beans

I want to point out that this is not my picture. Every picture I took of my personal refried beans looked like cat throw-up. After finding this image I realize this was because I had what is commonly referred to as bad lighting.

Ingredients

  • 3 teaspoons olive oil, divided

  • 1 small onion, chopped

  • 1 tablespoon of diced jalapenoes

  • 2 15-ounce cans white beans, rinsed

  • ¾ cup of your favorite salsa

  • ¼ cup shredded cheese (I don't eat cheese and left this out, note they are good with or without cheese)

​Directions

  1. Heat 1 teaspoon oil in a large skillet over medium heat.

  2. Add onion and jalapeno and cook until beginning to soften, 1 to 2 minutes.

  3. Add beans and salsa; cook, stirring often, until heated through, about 3 minutes.

  4. Transfer the bean mixture to a medium bowl and mash with a potato masher until creamy but still slightly chunky.

  5. Stir in cheese.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page