top of page

Organizing Your Meals



Organize your meals

They say the only constant is change but I believe the only constant is eating. We all have to eat and we have to eat every day. It's never-ending.

Don't you wish you could go on autopilot at least a few days a week while not breaking the bank with eating out constantly?

I want to talk about how I organize meals in my house to put as little effort in as possible.

My main goal is to save time while eating healthy. If I meet these goals I'm willing to cut corners in other areas.

School Lunch

I will start with my daughter's lunch. She is allowed 1 day a week to choose a cafeteria lunch and gets to pick the day. This means I make 4 lunches for her ahead.

Protein/Carb: My daughter hates a sandwich so we make peanut butter on crackers or she gets a baggy of turkey pepperoni with crackers.

Fruit: Stella (my daughter) gets to choose her fruit before I head to the grocery store but has been on an apple kick. I chop up apples and cover them in lemon juice so they don't brown. They last the 4 days as well!

Veggie: Stella also get a choice of vegetable but only enjoys raw veggies. So we go between carrots, broccoli or celery with a side of ranch. Yes, the ranch isn't 100% healthy but if this means she eats 4 pieces of broccoli I'm on board. (pick your battles)

Dairy: String cheese, done. That's it. ;-)

Treat: I usually pack a cookie or a couple of hershey kisses as a treat. I keep this small so she gets a treat but can't fill up on it.

I used to be able to pre-pack all of this in a neat little plastic reusable box, until my daughter found a lunchbox that won't fit the reusable box in it.....so, I use baggies.


my lunch box in my fridge

I put all of the baggies in the fridge and when my daughter gets home from school I immediately refill the lunchbox and put it in the fridge. This takes 90 seconds a day.

Here's the box I keep with all of the pre-made items to grab and go. (The box is a little tub I bought at dollar tree)

Grown-Up Lunch

Thank God my husband is not a picky eater and doesn't mind eating the same thing all week. I make 1 giant meal that serves us for an entire week. I personally like something warm but sometimes make salads.

This week I made a giant wok of Chicken and Broccoli stir fry with a side of steamed rice.


Chicken and Broccoli Stir-Fry

Ingredients

  • 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite-sized pieces

  • salt and pepper

  • 1 tablespoon oil

  • 2 cups broccoli florets

  • 1 bell pepper, sliced into strips

  • sesame seeds for garnish (optional)

  • 2 cups cooked brown rice

  • 4 meal prep containers

  • For the teriyaki sauce:

  • 1⁄4 cup light soy sauce (or 2 tablespoons dark soy)

  • 2 tablespoons honey

  • 2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar

  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch

  • 1 clove garlic, peeled and minced

  • 1⁄2 teaspoon sesame oil (optional)

  • 1⁄4 teaspoon ground ginger (optional)

Instructions

  1. Heat a large pan to medium-high heat. Add chicken, season with salt and pepper and cook until no longer pink 2-3 minutes.

  2. Whisk all the ingredients for the teriyaki sauce in a small bowl.

  3. Add the teriyaki sauce to chicken and cook for 4-5 minutes or until sauce is thick.Remove chicken from heat.

  4. Add the broccoli florets and bell pepper to the same pan. Stir fry for 2-3 minutes or until the bell pepper is slightly softened.

Divide the chicken and broccoli into 4 meal prep containers. Add 1⁄2 cup of brown rice into each container. Sprinkle with sesame seeds (optional) and cover. refrigerate for up to 4 days.

As soon as the rice and wok cooled I portioned out servings for grab and go eating. I also pack an apple and some instant oatmeal for my husband that he makes at work.

Dinner

My rules of thumb for dinner

  • All dinners will include a protein and vegetable. Sometimes they include carbs but that isn't necessary every meal.

  • 1 meal must be able to be ahead for busier nights

  • All dinners must take 30 minutes or less to make

Dinner ideas that show up a lot in my house are 1 pot dinners, sheet pan dinners and simple staples.

A simple staple is a recipe that I can buy ingredients for and make without looking at the actual recipe. I have about 5 recipes like this that, in a pinch, I can make with very little effort.

Planning and Grocery Shopping

I'm lazy, therefore I use Kroger click list. This allows me to order my groceries online and schedule a pickup at the store. I don't even go in! They simply bring the groceries out to my car. With 2 small children, this is a lifesaver!

I would love to hear from you on what challenges you have with meal planning, prep. I also want to know tips and tricks that work for you.

When you find a system that works for you it will save you time, take out anxiety and you'll eat healthier and feel better. ;-)

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page