top of page

What I Learned About Resourcefulness from A 5-Year-Old



Resourcefulness by a 5-year-old

I closed the door and she started crying.

My 5-year-old daughter had just come home from a playdate and, through tears, she told me her friend didn't like her anymore.

Part of me wanted to laugh and say "this is silly, they will like you again tomorrow" but I stopped myself because I realized this little tiff was my daughter's whole world.


So we sat down on the sofa and we walked through the playdate, activities they played, fun they had. And then a little story about playing with the sibling and leaving the friend out came up.

I pointed out that the friend probably felt left out when she and the sibling were playing together and not including the friend. Her eyes lit up! "Mom that's totally it but it was an accident, I'm so glad we talked it out. Talking it out always helps."

I sat there, mouth gaping. There was my little 5-year-old repeating something I say all the time, talking it out. I never knew she was listening.

But my daughter also reminded me that the root of being resourceful is sharing. When you share your thoughts, and emotions with someone else you have the ability to problem solve.


Kristen Gerking

You can even make an idea richer, which reminded me of my own sounding board, Kristen Gerking.

Kristen is my polar opposite which makes for a fun friendship and even better business discussion.

She and I have a weekly call where we talk about our different businesses and ideas. Niceties aside, we speak candidly to each other. She helped me become more clear in my writing and teachings. I helped her become more focused on her goals.

Just like with my daughter, we all need a confidant that we can bring ideas to, vent to and even cry with.

As this year begins make it a point to get a business partner or someone you can bounce ideas off of. This will ramp up your resourcefulness.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page