top of page

Experienced Cook, What's That?



Experienced Cook

When I hear the term "experienced cook" I think culinary school. But honestly I'm an experienced cook too.

I've experienced:

  • Burning dinner

  • Undercooking meat

  • Raw noodles

  • Overcooked eggs

  • Broken ovens

  • Microwaved potatoes

  • Canned anything

  • Using fresh produce and cooking it correctly

So yeah, I'm an "experienced cook."

This week I thought I'd share the recipe that made my husband fall in love with me (and fool him into thinking I could cook). Clearly he found out later what a novice I truly was (the list above? yep, he experienced all of those things too).

All kidding aside, when I was first learning to cook I used a few shortcuts (heck I still use these!) to make me look experienced.

Without further ado:


Giving credit where credit is due, this recipe I found from Family Fresh Meals. Everything on this site is amazing! (clearly if I landed a husband from this recipe)

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 lbs boneless skinless chicken breasts

  • 2 cups carrots, peeled and chopped

  • 1 medium yellow onion, diced

  • 3 stalks celery, chopped

  • 3-4 cloves garlic, minced

  • 3 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme

  • 1 bay leaf

  • 6 cups chicken broth (use my EASY homemade broth or low-sodium)

  • 1 cup water

  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste (I used 1/2 teaspoon salt & 1/4 teaspoon pepper)

  • 2 cups uncooked wide egg noodles (recommend brand is No Yoke)

  • 3 Tablespoons chopped fresh parsley

Directions

  1. In a 6 quart crockpot place whole chicken breasts on the bottom and top with , carrots, onion, celery, garlic, olive oil, thyme and bay leaf.

  2. Next add in chicken broth, water, and season with salt and pepper to taste. I used 1/2 teaspoon salt & 1/4 teaspoon pepper.

  3. Cover and cook on low heat 6 – 7 hours.

  4. Remove cooked chicken breasts and cut into bite sized pieces. Place chicken back in to the crockpot. Now add in egg noodles and parsley.

  5. Cover and cook just until noodles are tender, 5-10 minutes.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page