top of page

Interviews Made Easy



Get the job

Since graduating college in a time when jobs weren't prevalent and every interview mattered I created an interview ritual. Rather than going in with a scarcity mentality I would psych myself up and inevitably get an offer.

Here's exactly what I did.

Read the job description top to bottom several times

This basic but crucial step is missed by many. What you're looking for are buzz words, skills needed and company language. You will take these elements and think of your own work history. How does your past apply to this role? Have two to three stories ready to fire off. These stories cover how you performed in your past that compliment the new job.

Print out your resume and carry it with you

Never assume anyone interviewing you knows anything about you or will be provided a copy of your resume.

Dress conservatively confident

Make sure to wear clothes that fit (too tight or loose looks unprofessional). Wear something you know you look great in. This will give you a boost of confidence.

Make a soundtrack

That's right, create your own playlist of music that makes you feel confident and in control. Nervous energy can be danced away while you're sitting in traffic on the way to the interview. (I once had someone drive me to an interview and laughed at my soundtrack. I got the job. They didn't laugh anymore.)

Waiting room pep talk

Before you're called back, remember why you're there. Say to yourself "I'm going to get hired today and I'm going to show them why."

Firm handshake and eye contact

Shake hands with everyone you meet. Look them in the eye and ask their name if not readily given. Every single person you encounter matters.

Ask good questions

Remember this interview goes both ways. I've turned down job offers because I didn't feel the role was right for me after asking questions.

A great question that always clued me in quickly to what I would really be doing was "take me through a day in your life." If a manager can't answer this they aren't going to give you very good direction. On the other hand if they have a good grasp of the business, and their role in it, this answer will sell you.

Send a thank you note (snail mail style)

And when you send this thank you note make sure it DOES NOT SAY THANK YOU ON THE FRONT!! This small detail will speak volumes about your knowledge of etiquette.

Do not follow up, unless.....

Once you send the thank you note your correspondence is done. They know you're interested. Do not read anything into a long silence as some hiring processes take a long time.

Keep interviewing and if you receive an offer from another company you can then reach out to the silent company and explain your job offer about interest in their role. This has a way of speeding things along.

Does this really work?

I received multiple offers at various times in my life using this method.

If you get a job using this please let me know. And send me your soundtrack too!

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page