top of page

The Age of Innocence



The age of innocence

Gary Zukav once said "we choose our parents and we do this based on how much we can learn from them." While I do believe this to a certain extent I also believe that teachers are all around us and they also live in our children.

I like to think I'm the teacher but I'm frequently left awestruck by the simple insight that springs forth from these tiny humans on occasion.

One such occasion occurred this past week.

The conversation started with my daughter telling me about the difference between unicorns and alicorns. (In case you don't know, an alicorn is a winged unicorn.) As we discussed these mythical creatures my mind drifted to thoughts about my career path.

My career is different than the norm. I have a thriving career and life coaching practice where I set my own hours making this summer even more fun as I'm spending more time with my children than ever before.

But after 15 years in corporate America it feels wrong.

  • I can't have this life where I dictate my growth and the direction of my business.

  • I can't spend this much time with my children and be productive.

  • I can't provide for my family the way I did in corporate America.

At this very moment my daughter very confidently stated "unicorns exist if you believe in them."

I was almost knocked off my feet by these sage word. Everything listed above is a lie. I can have this life. I can spend this much time with my children and work with my base of 75 clients at the same time. And most importantly, I am providing for my family the way I did in corporate America.

I'm rewriting the rules.

 

Today's enrichment lesson comes from inside.

Your dream of thinking and doing things differently is real if you believe in it.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page