top of page

What A Year In The Library Taught Me



My year in the library

From 2015 to 2016 I spent a year in my local library. I didn't live or work there I simply utilized the hell out of it.

I was in a dark place, blaming everyone and everything; so, on a whim I logged into my local library's online catalog and began perusing self-help titles on managing people, happiness, time and children.

When I first started this journey I told myself I had no time to read actual printed words so that left audio books. That first night, armed with a computer mouse and a mission to find "the answer" I reserved 25 different audio books. Why 25? What if I hated one (or 12) of them? I needed options.

What started as a way to fix people around me became a mission to better myself.

None of the books had "the answer" because, as I soon found out, there wasn't just one answer, there were hundreds. Each book opened my eyes in a different way of thinking about, acting upon and doing things.

I entered a world where everything was possible but it all started with me.

For a printable list of everything I read click the image below


Printable version of my reading list

So maybe these books did lead to one answer.

I am the owner of my life, my choices and my happiness.

Every day you have the power to make a difference or a mess. What what are you going to make today?

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page